top of page
Search

Big Money Stylist Convention



You have seen me tagging BMS and BMS University, you have seen my me tagging NBR, and you saw my random live video while I was there when I started crying for no apparent reason.

So I wanted to share a little bit more about my time in Huntington Beach with the creators, coaches, and artists inside of Big Money Stylist and Natural Beaded row extensions.


When I got to the Pasea Hotel the night before, I checked in and enjoyed my gorgeous room and free bottle of wine. When the time came, I went and waited in line for registration. A huge line, full of gorgeous girls and LOTS of hair extensions. I immediately felt intimidated, insecure, and nervous for what would happen the following 3 days.

I was there alone. I had my own room. I was happy about this because I could do things at my own pace and have some privacy to recoup after the long days of 300+ people.

The next morning when class started, I found it hard to be my silly, loud, opinionated self. I decided to be more observant than anything. When we first separated into groups to discuss our insights and feelings with strangers, which was done MANY times throughout the week, I felt so much better! Every other woman there had similar feelings during registration. It was so great to feel like we all (all 300+of us in the room) had so much in common and struggled in similar ways.

I cant really get into much detail about the specific things we learned, because it really varies depending on each person. They help you see the facts of where you are in life and business, and they guide you in making plans to create the life you actually want. They really open your eyes to possibilities that our minds have made us think are impossible...NOTHING is impossible if you work hard and work smart.

......



I have heard so many people call this training "a cult" because they don't announce/promote/market to everyone EXACTLY what you will be learning and, no one really talks about it. The reason behind this is that everything is SOOOOO personal! There is no way a normal person could relate or understand. You would have to be there yourself to create your own plan (with their guidance).

I spent a lot of time watching their pages and people who have been in their program, listening to their podcasts, and analyzing if it is what I needed in my life right then.

If surrounding yourself with like-minded people in order to help you see yourself as more, and grow more as a person and business...I'd join that cult.

Its so hard sometimes, and it always seems to be people from this tribe who inspire me.


Now lets be honest about my experience.


I do wish there was more structured/detailed information given to us, for how much these classes cost, but at the same time I understand that they want you to sign up for the classes that actually give you that information.

The kits they suggest you purchase are CRAP. Please please please, if you are going to an NBR or BMS classes, put together your own kit. It will be WAY cheaper and you will have much better quality tools. The pliers, the clips, horrible. (They did hint at possibly coming out with their own line of glue and possibly tools though)

The pre-training , for 3 weeks, is great. The videos you can watch and interaction with your coaches were great.

The 3 day training itself felt a little un-planned. They mentioned a few times "We will go over that tomorrow" and allot of these things were never even discussed. Example: We were told to bring these worksheets regarding our salon income, yet they were never brought up during the convention. They discussed phone consultations and said we would be listening to some examples, which never happened.

In case this sounds too negative, I do not see my experience that way. I got ALLOT of personal growth from this training.

The person who surprised me the most was Garret J. White. I have listened to him on his podcasts and loved the ideas he shared, but didn't really love his intensity or connect with his personality...

When he first walked in, he was venting to the class about some drama going on inside of their salon business, which I didn't necessarily care for because it seemed like him just wanting to get his side out. I was there to learn, not be brought into the drama. He was able to bring it back around to relating to how we, as business owners, will encounter these type of problems.

He came in with music blaring, lights flashing, everyone screaming...which again, isn't my style and seemed excessive and didnt match the vibe of the group

BUT

After this training I want him to be my big brother, my dad, my leader. The amount of heart he showed. The passion you could see in his eyes for everyone's stories. The way he deeply wants to guide people to have better lives.

I can get over the fact that he is a little showy sometimes because he is just having a good time.


The other trainers were nice to hear from because they showed that if you really dedicate yourself, you can have the type of success they are living.



I did my best to go into this experience with no expectations and an open mind...which is hard but is the only way you are going to learn from it.

The biggest things I took from it were understanding the business and marketing portion in front of the chair....and obviously I became certified in the most amazing extensions there are!

If your are thinking of attending BMS Con4 next November...which I highly recommend...Just go in with an open mind. If you continue to do things the way you have always done them, you cant expect different results!


And if you are ready to have this dream hair, click the application link to see if you are a good fit.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page